More confessions of a yes-woman: take a f***ing vacation

Hi, guys. This will be short, I promise.

This past week, a post I wrote for The Yellow Conference went live, and I reread it for the first time since I wrote it back in May. It’s about saying no and having the courage to set boundaries for ourselves.

A quick excerpt from “Confessions of a Yes-Woman”:

selfless

(click to read the full post)

I know I’ve been writing a lot about self-care in the past few weeks, partly because of all the horrible things that have been happening in the world. I’m so happy to see beautiful friends like Christina Im and Topaz Winters championing self-care with gentle words and soaring voices, and the comments and messages you all have written me have flooded me with a peace I haven’t felt in a while. So thank you. Thank you so much.

But I need to take it one step further.

As I was rereading my own post, I’ve realized that I have pushed myself too hard for too long in the name of doing more. And I can’t anymore. I really just… can’t.

So this Thursday, I’m going on my very first Grown-Up Vacation that doesn’t involve a family visit or a reunion of some sort, and I’m both excited and nervous because I’m pretty sure I’ve forgotten how to do vacation (or… not-do?). I’m going off social media and off blog and basically off laptop/phone, concentrating on wellness and wholeness and the state of my restless heart for a while.

Sidenote: I am a full-time social media manager at my Adult Job, so I kind of have to stay there. But EVERYTHING ELSE I’M LEAVING YAY.

I don’t really want to be that person who’s like, “Attention: I’m leaving social media and that’s suchabigdeal.” I know that probably none of you will truly, desperately need to reach me in the next few weeks.

Instead, I’d like to use this space to tell you, “Please take a f***ing vacation, too.”

A while back, somebody said that to me. Repeatedly, because my skull is thick. And if not for them, I might not be doing this. So this is me, telling you, go away for a while. Go take care of you. Because right now, there’s a lot of hate and pain and generally nasty stuff flying around online. And I’m pretty sure that all of us could benefit from a step back.

Personally, the media craze of late has had me really clogged up creatively. It’s hard for me to make new things when my head is buzzing with so many loud voices. I have to find a way to shut them off sometimes.

I know many of you can’t take time off from your jobs. But I also know (because you’ve told me) that you guys, like me, have been overcommitting and you are stretching yourselves too thin. And I’m worried about you. I just worry, okay?

So please, loves, take a f***ing vacation from committing to things you don’t actually have to do. Give yourself a break from the self-imposed deadlines, just until you feel like you’re not drowning anymore. Say no more (see: my rant-post about that. Oh look, here it is again.). The world needs your heart healthy and full. It needs you to pause.

Pause.

Pause.

*deep breath*

So yeah. Peacing out for a bit, but will return when I feel re-centered and revived. Praying for you lovelies.

Samantha Chaffin


Be well. See you when I get back.

2 thoughts on “More confessions of a yes-woman: take a f***ing vacation

Leave a reply.

