Brown Paper Packages: Sad Animals Edition

Brown Paper Packages
Image: Local Milk

Last month I started a new thing on the blog where I collect a bunch of things that make me happy and post them on the first Monday of the month. Welcome to the July edition of Brown Paper Packages.

This Instagram account, killing me slowly (yes sad animals make me happy. What?).

*frantically thinks of everyone I know who is about to turn 21*

The mother-daughter team behind this project is taking body image to a whole new level.

You are very busy.

Confession: I am an ampersand enthusiast.

Hey L.A. Let’s go to the movies this summer.

Speaking of books (weren’t we speaking of books?).

Real life advice for the creative working human. This blog is everything.

Dear Humanity, it’s probably all downhill from here.

Casually empowering women, my favorite magazine ever.

At your next family reunion, tell them you want to be a writer.

Slip.

We’re all part-mollusk sometimes.

I have just a minor obsession with this song.

How great thou art.

Everybody knows Robin Hood’s friend Will Scarlet. Nobody knows that Scarlet is actually a kickass girl who’s got the Hood head-over-heels for her. In honor of the recent release of Book 3 in this amazing series, A.C. Gaughen’s Scarlet is the Paper Package of the Month.


Hey. Hey you. Share a few of your favorite things in the comments and they just might pop up in next month’s Brown Paper Packages

11 thoughts on “Brown Paper Packages: Sad Animals Edition

  1. deshipley says:

    My heart just flipped out twice.
    First time, noting the link to The Feather and the Rose.
    Second time, may have actually been Will Scarlet’s heart at seeing his name.
    But wait, no, my heart flipped too, ’cause Robin Hood.

    • samchaffin says:

      YES. That The Feather and the Rose blog post was one of the most relevant blog posts I’ve ever read about being a writer and talking about writing. I fangirled all over that.

      And dude, I just read Lion Heart (Scarlet #3) and I cannot contain these feels.

      • Susan Francino says:

        Thanks for linking us, Sam!! Btw I have stalked your blog and we should definitely be friends. Just saying. You do appear rather friendly with that DeShipley person, but I won’t hold it against you… 😉 😉

      • samchaffin says:

        Umm yes, please. (I have also thoroughly stalked your blog and y’all are awesome). 🙂 Also, thank goodness for that. I would never have forgiven her—irresistibly charming though she may be.

  2. Lee says:

    This is SUCH a great idea. Loved going through all your recs—so many delightful + darling things!

    I am kind of all about that ampersand travel mug. Must. Have.

    • samchaffin says:

      ❤ So happy you liked it!

      And girl, YES. That ampersand mug. Half of these things are just things I really wish I could buy but am currently too broke to shell out the money for. But soon. Soon.

  3. Topaz says:

    I’m loving these recommendations – especially the sad animals (full disclosure: I spent an obnoxiously long time scrolling through the Instagram feed) and the Slip dance (how hauntingly captivating!). Thank you so much for sharing. 🙂

Leave a reply.

