My senior year bucket list

When I arrived in my London flat last semester, there was a blue bulletin board hanging on the wall of my room. The only decorations I put up all semester I hung from that bulletin board—and that included a “Study Abroad Bucket List” that filled up four pieces of notebook paper by the end of the semester.

I know what kind of person I am, and I knew that having a list of things to do would keep me from holing up in my room all day. And sure enough, at the end of May, when I left London, I’d accomplished all but a few things on my list. Looking at the things I’d crossed off made me feel like I’d really gotten out into the city, and explored it as much as I could in the limited amount of time I had there.

I’ve been thinking about it lately, and I’ve decided that I need to do this for myself in my senior year, too. I’m not in London anymore, but even though I’ve spent almost 3 full years in Los Angeles, I still haven’t seen everything. So while what follows is my senior year bucket list, it’s also my Los Angeles bucket list, since my post-grad plans are currently up in the air.

Rules: can add anything to the list, but can’t take anything off the list once I’ve typed it. Attempt to take a picture/have evidence of me doing anything off this list. And there’s no particular order. Okay, go.

  1. See a concert at the Hollywood Bowl

    Aug. 24, 2013: Kristin Chenoweth concert

    Aug. 24, 2013: Kristin Chenoweth concert

  2. Spend a long time in the The Last Bookstore LA
  3. Go inside the Getty Center
  4. Go to Handsome Coffee Roasters… because, obviously, handsome coffee roasters
  5. Go inside the Walt Disney Concert Hall
  6. Go to a taping of The Ellen Show, probably bring mom

    Jan. 6, 2014: saw Ellen. And Leonardo DiCaprio. And Sara Bareilles. And Courtney Cox. Brought mom.

    Jan. 6, 2014: saw Ellen. And Leonardo DiCaprio. And Sara Bareilles. And Courtney Cox. Brought mom.

  7. Go to the Museum of Contemporary Art
  8. Go to LACMA
  9. Explore Silver Lake whilst wearing an ironic shirt with elbow patches
  10. See Audrey Assad in concert

    Oct. 4, 2013: Audrey Assad Live in Pasadena, St. Philip the Apostle Church

    Oct. 4, 2013: Audrey Assad Live in Pasadena, St. Philip the Apostle Church

  11. See Peter and the Starcatchers at CTG

    Dec. 4, 2013: Peter and the Starcatchers. Just as magical as the book.

    Dec. 4, 2013: Peter and the Starcatchers. Just as magical as the book.

  12. See War Horse at the Pantages Theatre

    Oct. 9, 2013: War Horse at the Pantages Theatre

    Oct. 9, 2013: War Horse at the Pantages Theatre. Amaze.

  13. Run a Color/Graffiti Run 5k
  14. Finish the first draft of Cure Me
  15. Finish the third draft of Privateer (kill me) 

    Jan. 20, 2014 at 1AM: taken immediately after I found out I had only cut 1500 words from my entire 3rd draft.

    Jan. 20, 2014 at 1AM: taken immediately after I found out I had only cut 1500 words from my entire 3rd draft.

  16. Participate in my third NaNoWriMo—survival is critical
  17. Go on a weekend road trip to anywhere
  18. Karaoke. Welp. Now it’s out there.
  19. Go to at least one Trojans home game

    Nov. 16, 2013: been there, done that, beat Stanford, rushed the field

    Nov. 16, 2013: been there, done that, beat Stanford, rushed the field.

  20. Eat at Nickel Diner
  21. Do the whole Roscoe’s Chicken and Waffles thing and try to not vomit because quite frankly it sounds disgusting
  22. Bonfire at Dockweiler Beach (just like freshman year)

    Sept. 6, 2013: Christian Challenge bonfire at Dockweiler

    Sept. 6, 2013: Christian Challenge bonfire at Dockweiler

  23. Hang out in the LA Central Library

    Oh. I'm a regular now.

    Oh. I’m a regular now.

  24. Visit Whimsic Alley

    My visit to Whimsic Alley!

    My visit to Whimsic Alley!

  25. Check out Upright Citizens Brigade Theatre
  26. Go to Disneyland. How have I lived 3 years in this city and still not gone to Disneyland? (edit: I’ve been to Disneyland before, just not in the 3 years I’ve lived here for college)

    5/7: 12 hours and 18 rides later...

    5/7: 12 hours and 18 rides later…

  27. Hang out in Chinatown—which is, shockingly, something I’ve not done, yet
  28. Visit Amoeba Records
  29. Go to a book signing at the Barnes & Noble at the Grove, meet an author and try not to act like I did (i.e. an idiot) when I met Ransom Riggs
  30. Buy overpriced juice at least once, afterwards hate myself and cry about how good it was
  31. See concert at the House of Blues

    Jan. 11, 2014: that, ladies and gents, is the TWLOHA HEAVY AND LIGHT concert feat. Jon Foreman, Mary Lambert, Tristan Prettyman, The Summer Set, and poet Anis Mojgani at the House of Blues

    Jan. 11, 2014: that, ladies and gents, is the TWLOHA HEAVY AND LIGHT concert feat. Jon Foreman, Mary Lambert, Tristan Prettyman, The Summer Set, and poet Anis Mojgani at the House of Blues

  32. Write and stuff face in Milk Jar Cookies

    My visit to Milk Jar cookies!

    My visit to Milk Jar cookies!

  33. Eat at the Stinking Rose and smell like garlic for DAYS
  34. Go dancing somewhere with people I love

To be continued. If you’ve got suggestions, I’d love to hear them!

Samantha Chaffin

3 thoughts on “My senior year bucket list

  1. deshipley says:

    *bursts out laughing at #30*
    It’s probably a slick idea, having different bucket lists in various categories, like that. Makes you look for lots of little awesome things to do, as opposed to only thinking in big picture terms. (:

    • samchaffin says:

      Haha I once had a professor who told me I had a “structure brain.” I haven’t heard a more accurate description of myself since. 🙂 Lists get me to do things…otherwise I’d be very happy to sit on my butt all day! And a 21-Things-To-Do-Before-I-Turn-21 is a GREAT idea! I’m turning 21 in about a month…maybe I’ll make one of those, too! 🙂

Leave a reply.

