NaNo 2012 contemplation

I am debating on whether or not to take part in NaNoWriMo* this year. If anyone remembers my attempt at NaNo last year (ahemmentalbreakdownahem), you’ll understand why I’m “debating.”

My first draft of Privateer is nearing 118K words. I say it that way because if I write out “118,000 words”, it just looks horrendous and embarrassing and sort of makes me want to crawl into a hole. It’s so long, I don’t even know what to do with myself. And I thought I’d get it done this summer! HA. Who was I kidding. Second draft, thou art an illusive bastard.

Anyway, my point is that if I don’t finish it by the end of October, I could use NaNo as a way to FORCE MYSELF TO FREAKING GET TO THE END. But I don’t think that I’ll have that much left to write by November. Also, that’s kind of cheating. But let’s face it, I would never actually write 50,000 words in a month during the school year. The idea is laughable.

…that’s kind of why I want to do it.

Besides, I totally cheated last year. If you recall, I was STILL writing Privateer a year ago, and when NaNo came around, I was thinking then pretty much the same thing I’m thinking now. It’ll make me write, it’ll be good for me, I can do it because I’m a winner WOOOO. Because I clearly cannot be trusted to write everyday without something making me do it.

Ideally, I’ll finish Privateer Draft Numero Uno by the end of the month, and then I can start on something entirely new in November (yeah, right). I don’t think that’ll be happening though. Considering how much/little I’ve been writing per day, as of late…

I would say let’s not put that number on the Internet, but weeks ago, I wrote a long post about not being ashamed of your writing rhythm, so I’m going to be a non-hypocrite here and announce that I have been knowingly skipping writing sessions (shame on me), but on a good weekday, I’ll squeeze in about 800 words.

So. WHO AMONG THE FIENDS OF WORDPRESS ARE NANO-ING THIS YEAR?! RAISE THY HANDS. If you raised your hand, congratulations, you can follow directions! Also, good luck, I am behind you guys 500%. You’re way more awesome than me. ALL the cyber fist-bumps. May your coffee be plentiful.

Seriously, I might just do NaNo because I know once November hits, I’m going to start scrolling through Twitter and Facebook and I’ll just feel really left out. Peer pressure, guys. If I do it, it’ll probably be your fault.

Exhibit A:

Samantha Chaffin

*Don’t know what NaNoWriMo is? That’s okay, a couple years ago, I didn’t either. Click here for more info.

11 thoughts on “NaNo 2012 contemplation

  1. deshipley says:

    *hand it the air, waving like it just don’t care*
    I’m NaNo-ing, and NaNo-ing *hard*. I’ve got two, count ’em, TWO novels in the works (no idea what kind of word-count I’ll be looking at for either, but it’s sure to total over 50K all told!), and… I have yet to dedicate a sufficient amount of time to planning either of them. X) But there’s still more than half of October to go; I’ll get ‘er done! I live for the madness.
    Joooin the daaark side, Saaam…

    • samchaffin says:

      GIRL. TWO NOVELS?! The fact that you are even contemplating this, I think, means that YOU WIN PREEMPTIVELY. Seriously, what a beast you are. I aspire to be more like you. Maybe I’ll do NaNo just so I can laugh at my minuscule word count at the end of Nov… 🙂

  2. nearlypublished says:

    I *might* participate in NaNo this year. If anything, the least I will do is use it to sort of push me to maybe finish one of my unfinished novels. I have two I’m currently working on, and a lot of plot bunnies have tempted me, but a part of my brain is making me finish something before I start something else. We’ll see how it goes, haha. 😀

    I wish you the best of luck with Privateer. Can’t wait to see how it ends on Figment!

    • samchaffin says:

      Dang! Everybody’s working on two novels and making me feel so insufficient… 😉 jk I think that is really awesome. Well if I have to, then you certainly have to do NaNo with me! Haha and I totally understand the plot bunnies…they are both the bane of my existence and the reason why I continue to write. 😛

      • nearlypublished says:

        I’m a bit of a multi tasker (I swear that one day it’ll be the death of me), and I get bored working on just one thing at a time. I’d say it’s all personal preference, though! Privateer is doing very well. 🙂

  3. Tiffany says:

    I read the first sentence, and all I thought was “YOU HAVE TO DO THIS.” And then you going on about excuses, how you failed last year yada yada yada, and I’m like “I DON’T CARE. I AM GOING TO BE SELFISH AND ORDER YOU TO DO THIS THING, BECAUSE YOU ARE UTTERLY AMAZING.” Like, come on. I’m going to do Nano. Because of that, so should you 😀 And btw, love, love LOVE the GIF! You always find really awesome ones. Don’t know how. Or make them. Idk. You’re just that awesome.

    • samchaffin says:

      Hahaha well I guess now I REALLY have to, since you say so. 😉 Ooo I am excited to see what kind of wonderful idea you will come up with for NaNo! Or will you work on something ongoing?

      And the gif thing…haha I actually just find them randomly on Tumblr. I have a file on my computer in which I save all of the funny/awesome ones. I have a problem, actually. Haha

      • Tiffany says:

        I’m definitely going to work with something ongoing. I have these ideas that kinda just need to come forward right now. I highly doubt it will be otherwise, but I guess I couldn’t PROMISE on it. Even though I said definitely. Oh well.

        And you MUST tell me when you make account. I will friend you immediately. Seriously. It will be immediately (after I receive and see the news of it :D).

  4. C.L. says:

    I love NaNo. I haven’t done it annually with any consistency, but I’m always grateful when it comes along to be able to try again.

Leave a reply.

