Intro to How, Ever

ON “HOW, EVER” (coming soon maybe possibly I don’t actually know)—

For those of you who have not yet seen Wes Anderson’s latest film Moonrise Kingdomlet me put it this way. The whole reason I went to see it was because one of my heroes, the lovely Shannon Hale, tweeted about how she walked out of the theater in awe and with an idea for a new story. Being who I am, I decided to mimic her like a true fangirl and lo and behold—I, too, walked out of the theater in awe and with an idea for a new story.

This. Is my life.

Furthermore, I had not-so-recently seen a beautiful little animation by Ryan Woodward that went viral a few years ago, and I was touched by it. You might even say moved. Before I continue, please watch this. It will take three minutes, and your life will be better because of it.

Right? RIGHT? I am madly in love with that song. It’s called “World Spins Madly On” by The Weepies, in case you were wondering.

So basically, Moonrise Kingdom + “Thought of You” + the 4th of July + a nod to the wonderful novel The Mill on the Floss by George Eliot = a new short story for Sam

…except it’s not short. I started it on July 5, and it is now fifty pages long. It’s just been one of those things that, once I figured out the characters and the storyline, writes itself. I don’t know how it happened. I officially cannot be trusted with “short” story ideas. I will turn them into novels.

“How, Ever” is a story about a girl and a boy who met under the fireworks on the fourth of July. But since I am who I am, it couldn’t JUST be about a girl and a boy, seeing as I do love to make things overly complicated. Also, I have not written a story set in the present-day in almost two years, so grasping the language and the right tone was a bit challenging for me… and no, I have not yet finished the first draft of Privateer (hurr hurr hurr), but the concept for “How, Ever” was so loud in my mind that I felt okay about sacrificing some Privateer time to write it.

So far, “How, Ever” is a combination of some of my favorite things: unique names, headstrong female characters, theatre/art in general, symbolism (SYMBOLISM!), and love. Also, it’s narrated by a guy, which is weird for me. But he’s actually really low maintenance and fun to write, so… whate’rr.

Once I get it polished up, I’ll probably post it on Figment, and then maybe do some character write-ups, etc. But for now, I’m just kind of organizing my thoughts via blog.

Oh okay, one more thing. Why the heck is it so difficult to write child characters and actually have it sound somewhat intelligent?! Seriously losing my mind over the first five pages of this story, because the two main characters are kids when they first meet (*coughcoughMoonriseKingdomcough*).

Expect a follow-up post on this. Soon. Or not so soon.

Okay, I lied—two more things. I’ve already made a cover for it in anticipation of Figment-ization (I couldn’t help it, okay? STOP JUDGING ME), so naturally, I’m going to plaster it all over the Internet. Here it is, a first look at “How, Ever”:

–Samantha Chaffin

11 thoughts on “Intro to How, Ever

  1. thejaneite says:

    Okay, NO. No. You can’t take up another portion of my life that will be spent reading this and obsessing over this and dreaming about this, and thinking about this when I’m supposed to be productive! NO!!
    Just kidding DO IT. Because I want to read it. And you’re going to facebook me, or tweet me or email me or SOMETHING before you post it, so I can sit there and refresh your figment profile until it shows up, SO I CAN BE THE FIRST COMMENT. I insist. Because it’s going to be marvelous.
    Now for a confession: I’ve never even heard of Moonrise Kingdom! Crazy town. But if you and Shannon Hale recommend it…I may have to make my way to the theaters.
    Also, that animation? Absolutely darling. And kind of depressing. And I love it.

    Oh, and 10 pages a day on average? (See, I can do the math because I was homeschooled.) That’s wicked impressive.

    • deshipley says:

      HOMESCHOOLERS UNITE! …Loudly.
      I’ve not heard of “Moonrise Kingdom”, either. Let us know how ye like it, Sam. And congrats on your self-writing story explosion! I’m sure “Privateer” understands. And if not, bribe its protags; in my experience, characters are often willing to negotiate, if they think they’re getting the sweet side of the deal.

Leave a reply.

