That is not a novelty. That is a beaver.

When one picks up and moves again for the second time in a year, one often is struck by the realization that one has a lot of useless crap.

You mean to tell me that I’ve been living in a wonderland of dilapidated knickknacks for the past thirteen-ish years, and nobody thought to tell me?! I feel… betrayed, somehow. And yet, exhilarated.

Anyway, I decided to take pictures of the most glorious things I find and share them so that you, too, can be filled with the joy of rediscovery.

This is what’s called a “Watchman,” circa the late 1980s. It is a very small TV with a very long antenna. And yes, that is a San Francisco 49ers sticker on the front. We just happen to be awesome.

I am actually afraid to watch any of these because there’s a large possibility that there may be one of my birth.

I think it’s safe to say that my family likes Disney movies.

Let’s not talk about this one.

And the infamous Taco Bell chihuahua that used to be given away with every meal. As a bonus, these four say things like, “Yo quiero Taco Bell,” “Hereee Lizard, Lizard, Lizard,” and “HAHAHA YOU CANNOT ESCAPE ME NO MATTER WHERE YOU GO I WILL ALWAYS FIND YOU*.” (*They do not actually say the last one.)

So besides desperately looking up ways to convert all my favorite Disney movies into DVDs, this has been my summer for the past few weeks. That and writing. Like, a LOT of writing. In case you were wondering, I hit 80,000 words a few days ago in Privateer (don’t worry, I know you weren’t really wondering).

Also, I’m beginning to realize that I have a lot of books. And when I say a lot, I mean I couldn’t even fit all of them into these 3 boxes:

I regret nothing.

Check out my summer reading list here! And if you have any suggestions, I’ve probably read them already. Just kidding, please let me know what you think is good. I’m always on the lookout for new lit.

Happy almost-July!

–Samantha Chaffin

One thought on “That is not a novelty. That is a beaver.

  1. thejaneite says:

    Okay, can I be perfectly honest? This is one of the funniest things I’ve ever read. You are one hilarious gal, you know. I laughed so hard reading this and then had to read it to my sister. She is now a fan. 😉 The High School Musical gif (besides describing much of my sometimes cheesy life) basically made my day, as did the fear of finding your own birth on one of those vhs tapes (I feel your pain) and the beaver…yeah I’m still not sure what to make of the beaver, apparently any more than you are. Anyway, please know that this post completely made my day. 🙂

Leave a reply.

