NaNoWriMoWhaChaMaCallIt

Happy November, dudes.

I lurrrrrve November (who doesn’t? Bums, that’s who). It’s the month of both Thanksgiving and my birthday, which for me means pumpkin pie and pumpkin bread and pumpkin cupcakes and pumpkin lattes and pumpkin-scented candles and pumpkin-anything-at-all-that-you-can-put-pumpkin-in.

Basically, I like pumpkins.

Other things happening this month: NaNoWriMo.

What is NaNoWriMo, you inquire? Gather ’round, children. NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month (check out nanowrimo.org), during which novel writers across the nation and beyond sit down and crank out 1,600 words per day until they theoretically hit 50,000 on November 30th. And if you’re thinking, “Hey, that’s wicked efficient. Sounds easy,” you obviously either a) are trying to downplay your terror, b) have never tried to write 1,600 words per day, or c) are one of THOSE psychos whom all the rest of us hate.

Or all of the above.

I first heard about NaNoWriMo last year, but it was late in November, and too late to start a new novel. This year, I wanted to participate (it’s free, you just register on the website and GO), but I was already in the midst of Privateer. Sad face.

So I decided that I would sort of half-participate. I figured that since I already have about a 25,000-word draft of Privateer, I would try to make it to 75,000 by the end of November. Seeing as that’s probably not going to happen, I have decided at least that I am going to write 500 words every day. AT LEAST. I’ve truly been lagging because I’ve been so busy with university, which upsets both me and my totally egocentric characters. In any case, I will post how long my draft is at the end of this month.

Accountability sucks. But it is frickin’ gonna happen.

Like the rest of the literary world, I waited up until midnight last night (Halloween night) and wrote furiously until almost 2 am. We’ll see how long that lasts. My poor roommate kept looking at me like I was out of my mind because of the inane bouts of giggles that often come upon me when I get excited about a character. Or when my brain is totally fried and I’m still trying to make art.

Mission Log #1: Beginning November at 24,836 words, striving to reach at least 40,000. While taking 20 credit units and applying for internships. …yes.

β€”Samantha Chaffin

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMoWhaChaMaCallIt

  1. storymultiverse says:

    Good luck! And just ignore the stares that you get for giggling when you get into a writing groove. I myself have a habit of head-bobbing, waving my arms like a conductor, and grinning maniacally (not all at once).

  2. thejaneite says:

    So….I never commented for some reason. I thought I did. My bad. I’m so glad you’ve made this goal, and are upholding it. Like you have no idea. And I, too, think that all things pumpkin are God’s gifts to mankind.

Leave a reply.

